My Own Little Taxi Cab Confession

I have a confession to make.  I’m a dirty rotten cheater.  A downright  philanderer.  And the victim of my wicked ways?  Chocolate.  Rich and sweet, I’ve had a love affair with chocolate since before I can remember.  We’re still hot and heavy, but, lately, I’ve been opting more and more for tart and tangy lemon.  This week’s post reflects this newfound adoration with one of the single most delicious recipes I have made in recent memory. This lemon yogurt loaf  had a uniquely thick, smooth texture, and was literally bursting with flavor.  I brought it home with me for the weekend and the girls devoured it.  Next time, I’m doubling (or maybe even tripling) the recipe.

Lemon Yogurt Loaf

Recipe adapted from My Kitchen Counter

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup vanilla Greek yogurt

1 scant cup sugar

3 large eggs

2 generous teaspoons lemon zest

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 tsp lemon extract

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1/3 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice

Directions

Sift together the flour, baking powder, and salt in a medium bowl and set aside.

In a large bowl, whisk your yogurt until smooth.  Add sugar, eggs, lemon extract, vanilla extract, and lemon zest and continue to whisk until smooth.

Add your dry ingredients bit by bit, mixing completely between each addition.  Fold in your oil.

Pour batter into a prepare loaf pan and bake at 350 degrees for 45 to 50 minutes.

Allow your cake to cool, then serve and enjoy!

One thought on “My Own Little Taxi Cab Confession

Leave a Reply

