Making My Morning Coffee Even Better

When I moved into a new apartment at the beginning of the summer, I didn’t have high hopes.  The old apartment had all the markings of a Jersey frat house, except for the fact that I lived there.  The new place, however.  Oh, the new place.

Built just after the Civil War, I wake up every day to a dream of soft natural light, exposed brick, and gleaming wood floors.  The best part — yes, there is a best part — is the backyard.  A wide open, green space, almost entirely shaded by massive trees, set back from the street, it is the prefect refuge from the incessant bustle of the area.  I have my coffee out there most mornings, reading a book or playing around on my computer, and just thank my lucky stars that we moved into the only house in town with a lovely green space.

Today I wanted to make something a little special for my morning coffee, my half-hour every morning when I do anything but search for jobs and write cover letters.  These scones were absolutely wonderful; incredibly soft and moist, perfectly punctuated with chocolate and peanut butter chips.  If I wasn’t a peanut butter chip convert before, I certainly am now.  These things are going in everything I make from now on.

Super simple to whip up, these scones are the perfect way to bring a little extra brightness to your breakfast.

Buttery Scones with Chocolate and Peanut Butter Chips

Recipe heavily adapted from a farmgirl’s dabbles

2 cups sifted flour

1/3 cup packed dark brown sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup cold butter, cut into small cubes

1/2 package (6 ounces) mini chocolate chips

1 package (12 ounces) peanut butter chips

1/2 cup half-and-half, at room temperature

1 large egg, lightly beaten

1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla

Directions

In a large bowl, whisk together flour, brown sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

Mix in the cold butter (I used a hand mixer, but you can also use a food processor or cut the butter in by hand) until the dough looks like course sand.

Make a well in the center, then fill it with your half and half, egg, vanilla, and chips.  Mix until just combined.

My dough was quite sticky, so I used a 1/3 cup to scoop the dough onto a prepared baking sheet.  Bake at 425 degrees for thirteen to fifteen minutes, or until the tops are just browning.

Enjoy!

One thought on “Making My Morning Coffee Even Better

Leave a Reply

